Forget You

And the winner of the Brad Richards sweepstakes is…the New York Rangers!  Oh, Glen Sather…don’t ever change.  B-Rad’s contract is reportedly 9 years with an average of $6.67 million per year (Satanic cap hit?). 

I feel like I should say something about B-Rad’s departure.  I mean, he was my favorite up until he could no longer be.  But what am I supposed to say?  Thanks for 3.5 great years, but sorry we have an idjit owner?  It’s just that I’ve already said everything I can about B-Rad’s time in Dallas throughout my blog posts. 

Brad Richards was a special player for us, and he would have been our franchise superstar had it not been for Tom Hicks.  As bitter as I am about losing my favorite player, I can’t hate him, because it’s truly not his fault.  I really wish Brad Richards the best in New York, especially since he’s up against a curse of sorts where good players go to the Rangers to fizzle out.  It’s been fun, 91.  Go stick it to the Penguins.

I’m already finding it easy to move on from the Richards ordeal because of the influx of new players we signed yesterday.  And let me tell you…I don’t feel quite as despondent about next year as I originally did.

Going into the first day of free agency, I don’t think many Stars fans expected the Stars to be a player AT ALL. But by the end of the day, six new contracts had been signed- the longest of which was three years.

Your newest Stars: Michael Ryder (!), Sheldon Souray (okay…), Vernon Fiddler, Adam Pardy (PARDY HARD), Radek Dvorak, and Jake Dowell.

I was pleasantly surprised by all of these signings.  Ryder will replace some of the scoring that left with B-Rad; Studly Wonderbomb will probably take over as point on the power play; Fiddler will be a faceoff star for us; Pardy will be another option on defense (bonus: he’s played for Gulutzan before); and Dvorak will provide leadership and penalty kill presence.

WINNERS.

GO STARS GO

Leave a Reply

