They are Bruins, watch them roar.

This is lightly late, but whatever.  I don’t think I’ve enjoyed a hockey game these playoffs as much as I enjoyed Game 3.  It’s always nice to watch a team you really, really hate get crushed when it matters most.

The Bruins brought it, there’s no doubt about that.  They were mean.  And I liked it!  I think their lack of real grit and mean-ness was what cost them the first two games of the series (and bullshit, but let’s not talk about that).  We all knew they were the Big Bad Bruins, which is kind of why people tend to hate them, but they weren’t really showing that.  Well…they finally did.

It was pure awesomeness. 

My favorite parts:

  • Tim Thomas’s hit on Henrik Sedin.  Goalies don’t hit that often, but Timmy Thomas isn’t just any goalie, I guess.  I laughed when he hit Ginger Twin 1.  That’s Tim Thomas for you.  He doesn’t take any Canuck’s shit.
  • Lucic taunting Burrows. Ok, so maybe it was immature, but whatever.  Julien yelled at him, so all’s good, right?  I laughed so much at this moment, though.  Maybe it’s because Lusty Lucic gave me a case of the giggles.  Or maybe it was out of intense hatred of Alex Burrows.  Who cares?  It was hilarious.  It was also the last time we’ll see it this series, because there’s now a strict penatly to go along with finger taunting.  Sigh…
  • The Canucks’ pathetic end to the game.  You do realize that all four of the Bruins’ third period goals occurred in the last 8:20 of the period, right?  I’m pretty sure that three happened in the final minute and a half, which is really sad.  The Canucks gave up, and it was a sorry sight.  How ’bout those President’s Trophy winners now, eh?  Sure they’re a good team, but when they get down, they get really down.
  • The last 20 seconds. When I wasn’t too busy crying tears of laughter, I watched the Canucks skate with the puck for the final 20 seconds of the game,  My favorite part was how Luongo was off the ice before the final horn even rang.  It was so beautiful.

I’m not going to really comment on the Rome hit on Horton.  I don’t think there was any malicious intent (as far as assbutts go on the Canucks, Rome isn’t the worst), but it was a dangerous hit to make.  For that, I’m glad he was suspended.

Next up: Tonight.  Versus.  Be there.  As if you haven’t put in your plans already.

Leave a Reply

