Chaos! At the AAC

Obviously the biggest story to come out of the Stars-Pens game is the Sidney Crosby-Matt Niskanen fight.  I’ll admit, it seriously freaked me out. When I saw that it was Crosby who was fighting Niskers, I was all, “OMFG I CAN’T EVEN. NISKERS? AND CROSBY? WHAT’S GOING ON?”

Let’s just say that if you went to the game intending to see Crosby do something crazy, well…you got your wish.  Personally, I thought it was gutless of Crosby to go after Matt Niskanen, a guy who has only ever been in one fight in his NHL career.  Hey, Sid, go with Mark Fistric next time. I guarantee you will not win that one.  This is why I don’t like Sidney Crosby.  Thank you, Sidney, for backing up my claims.

In addition to the Niskers-Crosby fight, there were three other throwdowns, two of which belonged to Jamie Benn, like this one with Chris Kunitz:

And then this one between Morrow and Kris Letang, which caused an outrage among Penguins fans:

I’m not really liking the whole, “BRENDEN MORROW WENT AFTER TANGER BECAUSE OF HIS HAND. OOOOH WHAT A TERRIBLE PERSON” bullshit.  It was some heated poking and prodding between the two, and it’s not like Morrow chose Letang specifically.  It was a spur of the moment thing. So, please, stop whining.

This was an especially satisfying win because it was against my least favorite team in the NHL.  What makes it even more amazing is the fact that the Pens got a load of free calls, including some that led to a lengthy 5-on-3, yet we still showed them what’s up.  One non-call that infuriated me was when Geno Malkin retaliated and put a blatant cross-check on Morrow, I think, and didn’t get a call.  I guarantee if a Stars player does that, he gets put in the box on a cross-check call. 

It was so sweet to beat the Pens at home for the first time in seven years. Some teams warrant a bit of a celebration after beating them, and Pittsburgh is one of those teams.  We played well and didn’t take any of the Penguins’ shit like most other teams do.

Loui Eriksson had highlight of the night:

Three words: sweet silky moves.  Jussi Jokinen would be proud of such a wonderful demonstration of his move.

Next up: Dave Tippett and the Yotes.

Make it happen.

Leave a Reply

