So Long, Marty

It’s official: MartyTurco is now a Chicago Blackhawk after the Hawks decided to walk away from Antti Niemi.

I’m happy about this.  Sure I would have preferred Turco in the East; we all would have.  But I’m glad he’s going to a contender, and I think he’ll get to shine behind the Hawks’ wonderful defense corps.

On Marty’s years in Dallas, I thank him.  While he was frustrating and shaky at times, he was a wonderful person on top of it all.  I wish him nothing but the best, and he’ll always be a Star in my heart.

It’s a bit heartbreaking to know that he’s really done in Dallas.  It still feels like I’ll see him in those gold pads handling the puck like the wizard he is.  Like every relationship, Marty and us fans had ups and downs. 

Who could forget May 4, 2008 in Game 6 against the Sharks when Marty played one of the greatest games I’ve ever seen?  He was at the top of his game that night, and he came out on top. 

Or what about 2007 against Vancouver when he recorded THREE shutouts, yet still lost?

We had some wonderful times and some truly hard times.  No matter what, I’ll always remember Marty Turco as one of the greatest players to ever come out of the Stars organization.

Best of luck to you, Marty, and I’ll really miss you.  Go win a Cup, why don’t ya?

Leave a Reply

