Mo-Town or Bust.

Not very any Stars fans are pleased about the recent news that it’s Red Wings or retirement for #9.  I’m in the minority on this one.  From the second Joe announced he wouldn’t resign Modano, I knew that the only team I was okay with Mo going to was the Red Wings.

I don’t think there’s anything wrong with letting him play in his hometown.  I say hometown because Detroit’s not his home.  Dallas is and will always be Mike Modano’s home.  Livonia, Michigan is just where it started, and I have no problem with letting his career come full circle with his last season as a hometown favorite.

Detroit actually has sentimental meaning to Mo, unlike Chicago or someone.  I’d rather that he play in a place with meaning than a place where he just wants to win.

Of course, he might retire.   But that seems unlikely to me.

Whatever decision Mo chooses, I will support him in.  All I want is for him to be happy.

Mike Modano, circa 1986

Leave a Reply

