Brenden Morrow, Where Art Thou?

I just wanted to begin by stating the obvious: this has been a very frustrating year for the Stars, and especiallly for us fans.  There has been so much disappointment and no one’s sure who to blame for this all.  Is it goaltending?   The C-list defense?  Lack of motivation? 

Is it…the captain?  Don’t get me wrong, I love Brenden Morrow.  I like the way he plays and he’s got a lot of heart.  It’s just…that’s the “old” Morrow.

The new Morrow is disappointing, frustrating, lifeless…and most of all, unmotivated.  He has nothing anymore.

I know, I know, it’s the knee and those types of injuries take a long time to get back to 100 percent.  I know.  But you can’t use that excuse forever, you know.

The Stars have been frustrating to watch, and I think the root of it is Morrow.  He’s the captain and he’s supposed to give them life, give them motivation.  He can’t do that if he’s lacking in both categories.  He’s got the Modano-factor going for him: when he’s down, the team’s down. 

I’ve wondered why he was chosen for Team Canada this year, as well.  Could it be that Yzerman was going off of 2008?  If you really, REALLY think about it, 2007-2008 is all Morrow’s had.  That’s it.  Yes, he had a lot before he became captain in 2006, but 2007-2008 was his breakout year.  I think we’re all blinded by a longing for 2008 playoffs Morrow.  4-OT Morrow.  That Morrow is gone at the moment.  And he might never come back.

You don’t know how hard it is for me to say these things.  I don’t want to accept  that Morrow’s nothing anymore.  The sad fact is that the team has played better without him in the lineup than with him in it.  They’re a different team without him, and mostly, it’s a good different.

As hard as it is for me to say this, I think the Morrow era’s over in Dallas, and I won’t be at all surprised if he’s dealt at the trade deadline.

The Brenden Morrow we want and love and need, is lost and he might not find his way back home…

2 responses to “Brenden Morrow, Where Art Thou?

  1. I though he had a pretty good game last night against Calgary.

  2. You might like this.
    2010 Olympics
    Stars’ Morrow happy to be off the bubble

    http://www.nhl.com/ice/news.htm?id=514159

Leave a Reply

