“No Goal” Will Never Go Away

When I wandered around The Hockey News, I found an article by Jason Kay, where he recounted the top 20 events that had happened since he’d been working at THN.  I thought it’d be one of those nice little reminiscent pieces where he recounted his favorite moments.

To be honest, I didn’t expect “No Goal” to be on there.  I mean, it’s a goal that’s looked back on in shame for a lot of people.  And, it came from the Dallas Stars, who they don’t really say much about up in Canada.

I smiled at times while reading the list (mainly, “The Goal” by Alex Ovechkin, which never ceases to amze me; it was ranked at #14), then there were times when I just wanted to cry for being forced to remember something I didn’t want to remember (pretty much only the Dany Heatley/Dan Snyder crash at #6).

So, you can imagine my surprise when I saw “No Goal” at number two, only behind Mario Lemiex’s return after cancer treatment.  I guess that prt of me expected it to be on the list, just way down low on it.  But, no.  It’s number 2.

Here’s what Jason Kay had to say about “No Goal”:

2. No goal, June 19, 1999. High drama. High controversy. High embarrassment. On the bright side, Brett Hull’s triple overtime Stanley Cup-winner over Buffalo helped drive a dagger through the heart of an ill-conceived rule.

It’s amazing how it will never, ever go away isn’t it?

The rest of the list is here.

Leave a Reply

