10/22/09 Stars Fall to Kings in OT aka “The One Where We Almost Won”

I’ll admit that the only goal I watched was Kopitar’s first.  I was really tired last night, and the Stars didn’t look like they were playing very well, so I just went to bed.  I was very wrong to think it was over at that point.  I watched the highlights this morning, and it was pretty much amazing how they came back.  For that effort, I think that they deserved that one point.  Of course, the fact that they even had to come back from a three-goal deficit isn’t very awesome, but I’m willing to look past that.

To be honest, this new Stars team makes me believe that they can come back from a deficit of two or three goals.  I just have more confidence in them, and I really can’t explain why.  I guess it has to do with the fact that they have come back from those deficits.  I like what I’m seeing.  With a little more work, Dallas could be a top ten team.

Plus, I’m glad that B-Rad played and looked fine out there.  He said later that the groin wasn’t really bugging him, which is nice to know.

Also, how about our young guys, James Neal and Jamie Benn?  They were great last night, and they’re going to be staples in this franchise for years to come.  You know, I kind of forget that Nealer had that eye injury over the summer.  I suppose it’s how well he’s playing that makes bad memories like that go away. 

I’d like to say that the loss wasn’t Auld’s fault.  The team in front of him wasn’t at its best.  And, I’m not gonna lie, but I don’t want to say that Auld did badly.  I don’t want to have goaltending problems where both goalies are inconsistent.  So I’m not going to believe that until it’s too late.

Anyway, great, great effort last night.  If we can build on all of this recent success, things will be good.

See you tomorrow night against the Blues.

Go Stars!

Leave a Reply

