10/17/09 Stars Edge Hawks aka “The One With the Flukey Game-Winner”

What.  A.  Game.  I’m not gonna lie, but that was really intense, and there were moments when I thought I’d pass out.  It reminded me of that intense Detroit game on January 12, 2009 when the Stars played a great game and never gave up.

Awesome, awesome effort by the Stars.  Especially Alex Auld.  He kept them in the game, and he stole it.  And how about that penalty kill?  They were pretty good in the PK, and I really noticed Tom Wandell and Loui Eriksson in that category.

Huet wasn’t great; I’ll admit that.  However, the team in front of him was.  They took shot after shot on Auld, and he brilliantly saved them all.

The line of Morrow-Ribeiro-Benn was easily the best one out there, with the fourth line a close second.  Sadly, we didn’t see much from Neal-Richards-Eriksson.  All three were rather silent, except for B-Rad’s awesome defense and Loui’s PK’-ing.  Neal didn’t have a very good game, considering his turnover led to the first Chicago goal.

Then, there’s Niskers.  Sigh.  Niskanen, Niskanen, Niskanen, what are we to do with you?  He had an awful game, and I felt horrible for him.  But the Stars won, so a win is a win, no matter who plays badly.

On a lighter note, I find it absolutely hilarious that the game-winner came on a flukey goal by Robi.  At first, I didn’t think it had gone in.  When I saw that it had, I just laughed and laughed. 😛

Great game, and best of all, the Stars won part of a back-to-back.  That didn’t happen too much last year.  Thank Gawd for that! 🙂

Next up: the LA Kings tomorrow night.  See you there!

Go Stars!

Leave a Reply

