10/11/09 Shootout Sucks aka “Insert Your Kyle Wellwood Fat Joke Here”

After last night’s game, I totally and completely hate the shootout.  Right now, I blame Marty Turco for all of the SO woes, so the Stars need to end it in overtime from now on.  And I kind of hate the fact that Kyle Wellwood scored the game winner.  Like the title says, Insert your Kyle Wellwood fat joke here.

But hey, the Stars are undefeated in regulation. 🙂  And that’s a high point.

Another high point is how freakin’ awesome the young guys are playing.  James Neal is one of the best, if not the best, player each night.  He’s adjusting to the new system really well.  And how about Nick Grossman leading the league in plus-minus as a +8?  Pretty cool.  Then, there’s Tom Wandell, who impresses me more and more with each shift.

And I just wanted to say that B-Rad’s goal last night was the most awesomest thing I saw last night.  It’s times like that when I simply swell with pride at my favorite player. 🙂

It was also pretty enlightening to see Lehts back last night.  I hate to think that this is probably his last season, so I want to see him play as much as I can before he’s gone.  And because Jere Lehtinen pretty much rocks. 😀

It would have been nice if the Stars had won that shootout, but I think that there are plenty of tother things we should think about rather than a lost point. (I mean, we did get a point, no complaints here.)

What’s worrying me most? Two words: Penalty kill. 😦  I’m usually overly optimistic, but I’m not gonna lie when I say that it truly sucks.  Why worry about Marty Turco when the true issue is penalty kill?  At least with Turco we have a backup plan called Alex Auld.  The PK is KILLING them.  I don’t want his season to go down the drain because of the effing penalty kill.  Sigh.

Let’s think happier thoughts, like the fact that Jamie Benn, our studly rookie, got his first goal last night!!! 😀  Woot woot for Jamie! 🙂

As for Stephane Robidas, I knew it was only a matter of time before he took a puck to the face.  Luckily, this one wasn’t as serious, and I don’t believe he’ll have to wear the cage.  But seriously, I thought it would be more than five games in before he got hit.  Guess I was wrong. 😛

Next up is Wednesday against Trashville.  Go Stars!

Captain Morrow takes down one of those twins. :P

Captain Morrow takes down one of those twins, and then there's B-Rad. 😛

Leave a Reply

