10/9/09- Stars Get First Win Against Flames

The Stars were impressive last night.  Two guys especially stood out to me: Alex Auld and Tom Wandell.

Auld was solid, and he looked waaay better than Turco has in the other two games.  This is good.  Auld is pushing Turco, like Mike Smith once did.   I like Auld, and I’d like to resign him next year.  

As for Wandell, I guess I never realized he had it in him.  He was so smooth, and I’m liking what we’re seeing from him.  He was easily the best player on the ice, other than Auld.

Robidas rocked, as well.  He had two assists and was a plus-5.  Way to go, Robi!

B-Rad got his first goal, which makes me very happy. 🙂  It was only an empty-netter, but it was a nice little shot that made the Calgary guy flinch.

Nick Grossman currently leads the league in +/- with a +6.

And just a side-note, but are they always gonna bring up the fact that Joe Nieuwendyk was traded for Jarome Iginla?  I’m just sayin’…

I also wanted to point out that my favorite former Star, Jussi Jokinen, had a great night.  He had one goal and two assists, and was named the number one star of last night.  Go Juicy! 🙂

And okay, here’s a confession:  I give up on my gold-star system.  I decided it was lame and I don’t feel like doing it anymore.

Now, back to the game review. 

It was a really good effort, and I liked how they played last night.  In my opinion, Auld should be the new starter, and make Turco pay for those losses.  I like the direction this team is headed.

Next up: Sunday at Vancouver.  Go Stars!

Nealer and Loui

Nealer and Loui

Leave a Reply

