Gold Star System

I just had this idea hit me.  See, whenever I think someone did a good job on something, I’ll say, “Gold star for so-and-so!”  Then, tonight  I wondered if I could possibly apply that to hockey. 

Hence, my new gold star system.  So whenever a Dallas Star has a good play or did something awesome, I’ll award them a gold star.  Then I’ll add ’em up at the end of the week, and we’ll have a Star of the Week.  Then Star of the Month and Star of the Year.  Maybe even a special playoff format.

Here’s how it works: A player can receive more than one Star in one night, so if they awesomely get a hat trick or something, they can get credit.  Keep in mind, that they can also be docked gold stars if they do something outrageously stupid or horrible.  I’ll kind of make the rules up as I go along just to forewarn you.

Starting with Saturday’s game, here are the recipients of gold stars:

Jamie Benn- Welcome to the NHL!  He gets a freebie.

Brad Richards- A gold star for growing your hair back! 😛

Brenden Morrow- It’s been awhile, Sir Captain.  A gold star for being back.

Karlis Skrastins- For making awesome defensive plays, he gets one gold star.

Toby Petersen- One gold star for being unnoticed yet awesome. 🙂

Loui Eriksson-  Loui made the second goal happen without ever being credited with an assist.  One gold star.

James Neal- Two gold stars for being awesome and scoring our two goals.

That’s all I’ve got from that game, so let’s hope that I can give out more after tonight. 

Go Stars!

Leave a Reply

