10/3/09 Shootout Loss to Preds

First of all, I want to congratualte Stephane Robidas on such a finely delivered hit on J.P. Dumont.  Trashville, that was payback for the Tootoo hit three years ago. 😛
Anyway, game review time, I thought the Stars looked slow through the first and most of the second period.  The first James Neal goal gave them momentum that they really needed.  And it was a pretty awesome goal.  I mean, Nealer was practically falling when he scored it. 🙂
They probably would have won if not for Dan Ellis’ (unfortunately) spectacular goaltending.  They played a solid game towards the end, and if they always play that way, this will be a good season.  I think I like Marc Crawford’s system.
Here are just some other random things I noticed last night:
-Jamie Benn looked really good out there.  I think we’ll see a lot of good things from this kid.
-Brad Richards was being his silent playmaker self as usual.  He’s not usually noticed, but he did a lot of good things out there.  I especially like that penalty he took at the end.  He’s not a penalty-taker, but he had to take that one.  If he hadn’t, the Preds might have scored, and it ould have ended right there.
-Karlis Skrastins was great out there.  He blocked shots and made diving plays, and I really like this free agent signing.  Gold star for GM Joe!
-I’m starting to believe that Toby Petersen is the most underrated Star.  He played really well out there, and we should see some great things from Toby.
-Loui Eriksson didn’t get credit for an assist on Neal’s second goal, but he deserved one.  He got in Ellis’ face, making him turn it over, thus leading to Neal’s goal.  Gold star for Loui!
-Now, I’m not trying to be a pessimist, but Turco looked shaky out there.  Hopefully last year was a fluke and not the new Turco.  I’m praying for that.
-Finally, I just want to say that I’m so happy the Stars are back.  The off-season was waaay too long.  I’m looking forward to a great season.
Go Stars!
B-Rad skates the puck.

B-Rad skates the puck.

Leave a Reply

