Preseason Musings

With every preseason game, we come a little bit closer to the real season.  Here are some things that I’ve noticed and heard during the preseason:

-This just might be the season that we see Brad Richards’ true colors.  He had an injury-riddled season last year, and we learned that he had off-season shoulder surgery.  Really, B-Rad’s all ready to go for this season.  And he’s been showing it by being the Stars’ best player during this preaseason.

Will we finally see the real B-Rad?

Will we finally see the real B-Rad?

-Jamie Benn is impressing me.  A lot.  Much more than Fabian Brunnstrom.  I don’t know if Bunny’s just having a rough time or what, but he’s in danger of losing his roster spot.  As much as I’d prefer to get Benn seasoned in the AHL, I can’t help but think that he could do some real damage here.

-Something’s off with Mike Ribeiro and Brenden Morrow.  Those two haven’t been producing the way we know they can.  Possibly the absence of Jere Lehtinen?  I certainly hope that’s the case…

Dallas' Dynamic Duo

Dallas' Dynamic Duo

-From what I’ve heard, it sounds like the goalies have been solid.  No “bad” goals have been let in.  No one’s pulled a Marty Turco as far as I know…

-They’re still adjusting to Marc Crawford’s system.  I’ve heard it in quotes and from Mike Heika.  Hopefully they’ll have it down by October 3.

-Florida is the new Detroit.  You know how it is with certain teams.  They just always have our number and somehow step up their play whenever the Stars are the opponent.  Florida seems to be like that.

-For other teams, it sounds like Chicago is struggling.  They recently lost Adam Burish and lost a game to Washington AHL-ers.  That brings me to the Caps.  They’re for real this season.   They’re playing really, really well.  As much as I want the Stars to win the Stanley Cup, the Caps winning would be the second best thing.

-Ralph Strangis had a really nice send-off for Sergei Zubov here.

-And Dave Tippett is the new coach of the Phoenix Coyotes.  I’m thrilled that he got a job, since I think he was unfairly fired by Joe Nieuwendyk, but I hate that it’s in the same division.  That might make it tough.

Game against Colorado tonight.  If I was there, I’d tell them, “Don’t effing blow this.”  But, they probably will.   For some ungodly reason, they just can’t beat sucky teams. 😦

One response to “Preseason Musings

  1. Brad Richards should be the star of our season, in my opinion, as long as he can stay healthy.

Leave a Reply

